About Us

About Us

It has long been accepted that research active hospitals help develop clinicians and improve patient care. It’s also one of the main drivers in providing evidence-based improved treatment and care options for patients.

With this in mind, in 2019 under the auspices of Beacon Hospital, the Beacon Hospital Research Institute was formed. The BHRI held its inaugural meeting in June 2019 which oversaw the appointment of its Board of Directors. The BHRI will be led by Director of Research, Beacon Hospital Chief of Cardiology, Associate Professor David Burke. Prof Burke will be supported by his renowned colleague and Beacon Hospital Medical Director Prof Mark Redmond.

Board of Directors:
Institute Director: Assoc Prof David Burke
Medical Director: Prof Mark Redmond
Beacon Hospital Chief of Operations: Ms Suzanne Garvey
Beacon Hospital Director of Nursing: Ms Fiona Kirwan
Academy Manager: Ms Ruth Whelan
BHRI Lead Researcher: Dr Victoria McEneaney

Specialist Research Directors:
Allied Health: Ms Ailish Daly
Anaesthesia & Critical Care Medicine: Assoc Prof Michael Egan and Dr Justin Lane
Cardiology: Dr Matthew Barrett
General Medicine: Prof Colm O Moráin
Oncology and Palliative Care: Assoc Prof Alina Mihai
Orthopaedics: Mr Joe Queally
Surgical Services: Prof Prem Puri

By conducting novel, high quality, multi-disciplinary research we will continue to deliver evidence-based medicine and improved treatment options to our patients.

Our goal over the next several years is to establish Beacon Hospital as a “research-led” hospital which delivers research that positively impacts patients and their journey with us.